Society News & Annoucements


-ICHO 2016-

April 11-15, 2016
New Orleans, Louisiana

Plenary Lecturers have been announced!
- Professor Chrit Moonen
- Dr. Damian Dupuy
- Professor Michael Yaffe 

More information HERE.


5th International Symposium 

on Focused Ultrasound 
August 28-September 1, 2016  
Washing DC Metro Area

The program from the STM 2015 meeting is now online. We had an impressive schedule of topics, exceptional guest speakers, and an abundance of excellent abstract presentations from colleagues. It can be found HERE.

Thanks to all of you who attended this successful event!


Twelve New Investigators earned Travel Awards to the 32nd Annual Meeting of the Society for Thermal Medicine. $600 grants were awarded based on applications and abstracts judged by a Committee of STM members chaired by Dr. R. Jason Stafford of the MD Anderson Cancer Center . The awards are funded in part by the National Institutes of Health through grant R13CA174356 from the National Cancer Institute and from sponsorship funding from the Radiation Research Society. In addition to the Travel Awards, these New Investigators receive Jr. SIT Memberships in the Radiation Research Society. The New Investigators presented their abstracts during the STM Annual Meeting in Lake Buena Vista, FL and STM Officers hosted the New Investigators at a private dinner during the Annual Meeting. 

Edmond Balidemaj – Academic Medical Center, University of Amsterdam

“In vivo conductivity values of cervical cancer patients reconstructed with a 3T MR system”

Lindsey Shea – University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

“Increasing Energy Density with Polyprotic Acids and Polyamines for 
Use in Thermochemical Ablation”

Gerben Schooneveldt - Academic Medical Center, University of Amsterdam

“Thermophysical fluid modelling for loco-regional hyperthermia treatment of 
Non-Muscle Invasive Bladder Cancer”

Sri Kamal Kandala- Johns Hopkins University
“Simulation of magnetic nanoparticle hyperthermia in prostate tumor models”

Taylor Ibelli - Wake Forest Baptist Health Medical Center

"Photothermal Ablation of Streptococcus pyogenes using Fluorescent 

 Bio-Polymeric Nanoparticles”

Tao Lu - Erasmus Medical Centre

“A novel stealth idarubicin thermosensitive liposome for ultrafast triggered release 
using mild hyperthermia”

Sergio Curto - Kansas State University
“Design and optimization of a conformal microwave antenna for a wearable breast 
hyperthermia applicator”

Mark Bucsek - Roswell Park Cancer Institute

“Destressing laboratory mice reveals new relationships between heat production, 
anti-tumor immunity and β-adrenergic receptor signaling"

Enid Choi - University of Maryland

“External thermal therapy with concurrent radiation therapy results in rapid and 
durable regression of multiply-recurrent, debilitating verrucous vulgaris: a case report”

Harishankar Natesan - University of Minnesota

Integrated micro-thermal sensor for planning and guidance of pulmonary vein ablation”

Alicia Petryk - Dartmouth College

“Fractionated nanoparticle hyperthermia and radiation improves tumor treatment efficacy”

Mustafa Sarimollaoglu - Arkansas Nanomedicine Center, University of Arkansas 
for Medical Sciences

Photothermal cancer therapy guided by in vivo photoacoustic flow cytometry”

2015 Meeting Sponsors

Calendar of Upcoming Events

Filter Calendar by Meeting: Filter Calendar by Track:
Guest Registrationdelete
Guest Registrationdelete

© 2016 Society for Thermal Medicine   
Contact Us:
Tel: 1-785-865-9403 (or toll-free in USA 1-800-627-0326)
Fax: 1-785-843-6153 

eBusiness assistance provided by Allen Press, Inc.